Scientists must evaluate reality objectively and prepare for the future, So I started studying sweet potatoes.

• Hits : 360
  • Registration Date : 2021-04-30
01-0.jpg
Scientists must evaluate reality objectively and prepare for  the future, So I started studying sweet potatoes.의 대표사진

Reflections on Teaching

Scientists must evaluate reality objectively and prepare for the future, So I started studying sweet potatoes.

Professor Kwak Sang-soo (UST- KRIBB (Korea Research Institute of Bioscience and Biotechnology) School)

Everyone will remember last summer when it rained all month long. It was a time to realize the crisis of climate change that we are facing. What about this spring? The cherry blossoms were beautiful, but I am worried about the blooming season which is becoming faster and faster. The world is already suffering from disasters caused by climate change, so we need to prepare for the climate pandemic. Drought, desertification, heat waves, heavy rain, sea level rise... These extreme disasters are causing another disaster. It is the 'food crisis'. Various disasters accelerate soil loss and desertification, disrupting food supply. Professor Kwak Sang-soo of UST-KRIBB has been developing proprietary technology for plant improvement to predict and overcome the food crisis caused by environmental problems for a long time. For 27 years, we have been focusing on one area of sweet potato research, and in recent years, he successfully developed 'golden sweet potatoes using new orange protein,' which is rich in antioxidants and is resistant to environmental stress.

Worries and big dreams of Kwak Sang-soo when he was a boy