Global
Establish global status as a national research university

Improving brand value
Improving cooperation network

Smart
Establish creative knowledge management system

Providing creative educational environment by applying cutting-edge technology
Improving management effectiveness

The Power of Positive Thinking in Search of Myself : Unfurling the Sail of Hope at UST

• Hits : 1535
  • Registration Date : 2013-01-21

Dream come true on UST
After graduating from a high school where I studied for the natural sciences stream (serie scientifique) of the baccalaureat [French college entrance qualifying examination], I went on to medical school and worked hard to pass the ranking exam. At the time, I was really interested in genetics, DNA, and human evolution, but that exam was known as one of the really hard ones, and I failed it twice. So I decided to switch to a different department. The field that I was interested in after medicine was fine arts. To major in art history and archeology, I entered the department of humanities. After graduating and obtaining a degree, I had to choose between going on to the master’s program and once again challenging a field in the sciences. In the end, I went on to the master’s program and, for 2 years, studied the characteristics of past ages and age determination methods.

At the Michel de Montaigne University Bordeaux 3 (Universite Michel de Montaigne Bordeaux 3), there was a program where you could be trained abroad in related fields to obtain a degree. To graduate from the master’s program, I received two types of education. One was opening and running an artist’s studio in Bangkok, Thailand, for 2 months. The other was majoring in luminescence dating together with Dr. Jeong-Heon Choi, my current academic advisor, at a lab at the Korea Basic Science Institute (KBSI) in Daejeon, Korea for 6 months, from March 2009.
Luminescence